Were you recently fired, laid off, or left your job in Minnesota? You deserve to receive your final paycheck in a timely manner. This is a cornerstone of Minnesota labor law – you can, and should, demand your final paycheck.
Wage & Hour Attorneys Working For You
Still waiting for your final paycheck? Our experienced wage and hour attorneys are here to help. You have powerful legal rights; we can help you take advantage of your options. No one should be left hanging after being fired or stepping down from their job. You deserve to receive the wages you earned over your last pay period. We’re here to fight for you.
The dedicated legal team at Wage Advocates has handled numerous last paycheck lawsuits in Minnesota. We have the extensive experience and resources you need to get the job done.
Don’t wait around for your employer to see the light and pay you a final paycheck. Take action now by contacting our committed unpaid wage attorneys today for a free consultation.
Final Paycheck Requirements In Minnesota
Under Minnesota Statute §181.13, any employee who quits his or her job is legally entitled to receive a final paycheck on the next scheduled pay date, or within 20 days of the last day of work, whichever date comes earlier.
Things are a little different for employees who are fired, laid off or discharged. In most cases, you will have to demand your final wages from your employer in a written letter, but there’s a catch. After you demand your wages, your employer only has 24 hours to comply.
Every week, hundreds of Minnesota employers fail to comply with these simple legal obligations. You can fight back. Here’s what you should do if you don’t receive your final paycheck within a timely manner.
Making A Written Demand For Final Wages
You deserve to receive your final paycheck immediately, but what happens if you don’t? It’s time to take action.
If you were fired, laid off or otherwise discharged from your duties, send your employer a written demand for your wages as soon as possible. Once your former employer has received your written demand, they have only 24 hours to comply with the request and pay you for your earned wages.
It’s extremely important to send your employer a written demand, rather than making a quick phone call or shooting off a text to your manager. Keeping a written record of your demand creates evidence; it’s a way to prove that you demanded your wages in a timely manner.
Here’s a tip direct from the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry. For best results, send your demand letter by certified mail so you know that your employer received it.
Employers Have 24 Hours To Comply
After you send your demand letter, you’ll have to wait, but you won’t have to wait long. Remember, your employer has just 24 hours to comply. That’s the law in Minnesota. So wait and see if your former employer complies with their legal obligation and sends you a final paycheck within 24 hours.
What happens if your employer fails to send you final payment within 24 hours? Employers who fail to pay an employee’s final wages after receiving a written demand, or fail to do so within 24 hours, could be on the hook for significant financial damages.
Filing A Lawsuit For Your Final Paycheck
At this point, you have the option of going to court. In Minnesota, you can sue your former employer for financial compensation if they fail to comply with a written demand for final payment.
And you could be in line to secure substantial financial damages. In a civil lawsuit, former employees are entitled to pursue the amount of their final paycheck, plus one day of average wages for each day the employer was late in paying (up to a maximum of 15 days). You could also be awarded attorney’s fees and financial penalties if the court sees fit.
Contact An Experienced Minnesota Final Paycheck Attorney
Don’t hesitate. Don’t wait to secure the wages you earned before you left. If you were fired or laid off, your employer has only 24 hours to comply with your written demand for final wages. Once those 24 hours have passed, your employer is in violation of Minnesota law.
Filing a wage and hour lawsuit doesn’t have to be scary. Our experienced attorneys always work on a contingency-fee basis; that means you pay us nothing until we secure compensation in your case. There’s no risk to reaching out for help. We offer free consultations so you can learn more about your legal options at no charge and no obligation.